WHS regulators and workers' compensation authorities contact information

The Commonwealth, Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Northern Territory and Queensland implemented the model WHS laws in their jurisdiction on 1 January 2012. South Australia and Tasmania implemented the model WHS laws on 1 January 2013. On 10 November 2020, Western Australia passed a version of the model laws, which became operational on 31 March 2022. Victoria is the only jurisdiction who has not implemented the model WHS laws.

In jurisdictions where the model laws have been implemented, each state and territory are expected to make variations to ensure the laws operate effectively in their jurisdictions. In some instances, states and territories have also made more substantial variations. This is why it is important to make sure you always consider the WHS laws that apply in your state or territory.

Information about jurisdictional WHS regulators, their WHS laws and who to contact is listed below. 

Jurisdictional WHS contacts

Jurisdictional Workers' Compensation contacts