Our Agency

We are jointly funded by the Commonwealth, state and territory governments through an Intergovernmental Agreement. 

We are an inclusive, tripartite body—we work collaboratively with governments, employers and workers—to drive national policy development on WHS and workers’ compensation matters. We work to: 

  • coordinate and develop national policy and strategies 

  • assist with the implementation of model WHS legislation and reform the legislative framework 

  • carry out and publish research 

  • collect, analyse and report data. 

As a national policy body, we do not regulate WHS laws. The Commonwealth, states and territories retain responsibility for regulating and enforcing WHS laws in their jurisdictions. 

Organisational chart

Chief Executive Officer: Michelle Baxter

  • Office of the CEO: Director: Damien Crisp

Deputy Chief Executive Officer - Amanda Johnston

  • Secretariat & Governance - Damien Crisp
  • People & Business Services  – Director: Nicole Parkes
  • Legal Services  – Branch Manager: Leah Edwards
    • Legal & Procurement - Director: Kim Begbie
  • Chemicals, Occupational Hygiene & High Risk Work Policy – Branch Manager: Rebecca Newton
    • Chemicals Policy & WES Review – Director: Leanne McCauley
    • Occupational Diseases & Hygiene Policy – Director: Megan Downie
    • High Risk Work & Industries Policy – Director: Nathan Lee
  • Evidence, Communications & Strategic Policy – Branch Manager: Meredith Bryant
    • Strategic Policy and Coordination – Director: Pam Binnington & Margit Schuller
    • Data Improvement – Director: Kyra Hutchison
    • Data Analysis – Director: Phillip Wise
    • Communications – Director: Amber Skurr
  • WHS Framework & Workers' Compensation Policy – Branch Manager: Sarah Costelloe
    • Workers' Compensation Policy – Director: Corey Grandin  ​​​​​
    • Psychosocial & Consultation Policy - Director: Katherine Taylor
    • WHS Framework – Director: Sinead McHugh
    • Finance, Risk & Security - Director: Vikram Bhatia