New Chair of Safe Work Australia announced

Ms Ann Sherry AO has been appointed as the new Chair of Safe Work Australia by the Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, Bill Shorten.

She has been appointed to this part-time position for three years.

Minister Shorten congratulated Ann on her appointment.

“Ann brings a wealth of experience to the work health and safety and worker’s compensation table through many years as a leader in Australian business,” Minister Shorten said.

Ann will replace outgoing Safe Work Australia Chair, Mr Tom Phillips AM. Tom oversaw the establishment of Safe Work Australia, the development of the model work health and safety laws, and the Australian Work Health and Safety Strategy 2012-2022.

View the biography of Ann and other Safe Work Australia Members.


Questions should be emailed to

Quick links and Initiatives


Information Publication Scheme FOI Disclosure Log

Bottom navigation