Our Members

Through a partnership of governments, employers and employees, Safe Work Australia drives national policy development on work health and safety and workers’ compensation matters and specifically to:

  • achieve significant and continual reductions in the incidence of death, injury and disease in the workplace
  • achieve national uniformity of the work health and safety legislative framework complemented by a nationally consistent approach to compliance policy and enforcement policy, and
  • improve national workers’ compensation arrangements.

Safe Work Australia is an inclusive, tripartite body comprising 15 members, including an independent Chair, nine members representing the Commonwealth and each State and Territory, two representing the interests of workers, two representing the interests of employers and the Chief Executive Officer of Safe Work Australia.

Safe Work Australia Members

Name and biography Representing
Ms Diane Smith-Gander - Chair
TBC New South Wales
Ms Clare Amies Victoria
Mr Simon Blackwood Queensland
TBC South Australia
Mr Lex McCulloch Western Australia
Mr Michael Young ACT
Mr Martin Shirley Tasmania
Mr Stephen Gelding Northern Territory
Ms Justine Ross Commonwealth
Mr Michael Borowick Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)
Mr Andrew Dettmer Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)
Mr James Pearson Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Mr Mark Goodsell Australian Industry Group
Ms Michelle Baxter - Chief Executive Officer Safe Work Australia

Quick links and Initiatives


Information Publication Scheme FOI Disclosure Log

Bottom navigation